Before and After

Two months since my last post – shame on me! This post needs to be pretty special to make up for the lack of activity. I should clarify that statement – I HAVE been active, both in and out of the sewing room. I just have not had time to indulge in a little sewing for the all important ME.  When I got an email from my Sewing Guild Group Coordinator telling me that our July meeting was about re-fashioning garments I needed to come up with something in a hurry.

Before - coat

 

 

Voila! The deep, dark recesses of my closet revealed this overcoat purchased 20 years ago when living in Sydney and still working. I’m usually pretty good at regularly weeding out my wardrobe but this coat seems to have escaped every pruning. It was a favourite for lots of reasons – I loved the colour, the fabric and  details like the collar and pocket flaps. However, since moving to Queensland 12 years ago I have worn it exactly twice. Time for a makeover.

 

Vogue 8876001

 

Marcy Tilton is one of my favourite designers and her patterns frequently lend themselves to this type of project because she uses interesting shapes and lines in her designs.  Lots of smaller pattern pieces make it easier to re-fashion an existing garment.  It’s a bit hard to see the detail in this photo but take a look at the line art below and you will see the design lines more clearly.

 

Vogue 8876002

 

 

 

 

 

After dismantling the coat (at my Guild meeting) it became clear I would need another piece of fabric so off to the garage when I got home to rummage through my stash.  Of course, with all those pieces to choose from, the perfect one was waiting for me – a piece of cream and brown border print (cotton) picked up for $5.00 from a remnant basket.  Some careful planning, juggling of pattern pieces and a thoroughly delightful day in my sewing room resulted in this masterpiece.  It’s a bit chilly to wear  just now but winter never lasts very long in Queensland.

Remember the collar and pocket flaps I so loved?  They have reappeared, intact, on the dress.  A slight variation on the original design which is still very pleasing to the eye and had the added benefit of reducing sewing time.  I also salvaged the tabs from the sleeve cuffs and added them at the back of the dress.  The buttons are also from the original garment.  End result – a quirky little number costing me a grand total of $7.80 (I had to buy a spool of thread)!

Front view

Front view

Back view

Back view

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Wendy Lohmann
    Jul 19, 2014 @ 19:49:23

    Interesting design

    Reply

  2. Sharon
    Jul 20, 2014 @ 12:02:12

    Wow this looks amazing and love the way you have used the sleeve tabs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Seams Like Fun

Looking for fun? Join the sewing community.

Mary Peterson's Thrifty Chic

Thrift Conscious - Refashion/Fashion/Lifestyle

well-suited

Looking for fun? Join the sewing community.

Pro Sew

Looking for fun? Join the sewing community.

Visit my NEW blog at MarcyTilton.com

Looking for fun? Join the sewing community.

Australian Sewing Guild Ltd

Looking for fun? Join the sewing community.

sew Amy sew

sewing pieces to wear and admire

