Quest for the Perfect Bodice

Alas, over the years my body has changed.  Many hours spent at the sewing machine (and computer) have contributed to slightly rounded shoulders, making a good fitting bodice a wee bit more difficult.  All you sewing enthusiasts know how hard it is to fit yourself and when the fitting problems are in the back it becomes even more difficult.  Sooooo… the eternal quest for the perfect bodice sloper has led me to this post.

Some months ago I purchased a Craftsy online class called Pattern Making Basics:  The Bodice Sloper.  Before you roll your eyes and say “been there, done that” read on.  I’ve tried a few other such classes – very ho-hum – but this one was different.  The instructor is a fabulous teacher by the name of Suzy Furrer.  She takes you through the steps of measuring, creating a moulage (a VERY tight version of the sloper, with no wearing ease) and then the creation of your sloper.  It’s a process that is not for the impatient as lots of measuring, checking, careful calculating, etc. is required.  However, definitely worth the effort.

Ta da!!!  After a weekend in the sewing room, hunched over my cutting table and sewing machine, here it is.

Perhaps still a bit of tweaking required(see those slight wrinkles), but I’m very happy with the result so far.  I’ve just purchased Suzy’s book Building Patterns:  The Architecture of Women’s Clothing (go to her website at www.apparel-arts.com).  Suzy also has other online classes available at Craftsy but purchasing the book gives you all the classes in one reference book.

Of course, I have to acknowledge the assistance of my Australian Sewing Guild buddies who helped with measuring and fitting.  What would I do without my Guild friends?!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. loribeilby
    Jul 29, 2014 @ 01:30:08

    Your patience and attention to detail were well worth the for great fitting results!

    Reply

  2. Sharon
    Jul 29, 2014 @ 12:32:28

    This looks amazing and I did wonder about the outcome of that Craftsy Class.

    Reply

  3. CherryPix
    Aug 03, 2014 @ 23:40:05

    I’ve ordered this book! Looks fantastic…as does your new bodice sloper! Thank you for the review!

    Reply

  4. Maren
    Jan 05, 2015 @ 02:50:05

    Hi Louise,
    Please forgive my leaving this in a comment, I couldn’t find an e-mail address for you. I’m making an index of Australian sewing bloggers, which you can find here: http://iammsfrizzle.blogspot.com/2014/12/sewists-of-australia.html I hope you don’t mind being on it- just let me know if you want to be removed. Thank you!

    Reply

  5. Sharon
    Jan 30, 2015 @ 12:55:26

    This is looking very impressive and agree what would we do without our Guild friends! I have purchased Suzy’s Top and Skirt Craftsy classes but after the pants I really need to get my head around fractions!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Seams Like Fun

Looking for fun? Join the sewing community.

Mary Peterson's Thrifty Chic

Thrift Conscious - Refashion/Fashion/Lifestyle

well-suited

Looking for fun? Join the sewing community.

Pro Sew

Looking for fun? Join the sewing community.

Visit my NEW blog at MarcyTilton.com

Looking for fun? Join the sewing community.

Australian Sewing Guild Ltd

Looking for fun? Join the sewing community.

sew Amy sew

sewing pieces to wear and admire

